News
 Travel
 Hotels
 Tickets
 Living
 Immigration
 Forum

Review

Rating:
Review:
Word Count: 0
Pictures:
Ok Cancel

Paddington Reservoir Gardens

251-255 Oxford St, Paddington NSW 2021, Australia

Introduction of Paddington Reservoir Gardens

Paddington Reservoir Gardens Paddington (Paddington), on the eastern outskirts of Sydney, the capital of New South Wales, lies below the horizontal line of (Oxford Street) on Oxford Street and is likely to be ignored by passers-by because it is a sunken garden.

Paddington Reservoir Gardens is an important heritage reserve with 150 years of history and engraved on the track of the city of Sydney. The original site of the Garden was a reservoir, and in the 1850s, the size and population of the city of Sydney was greatly expanded and expanded rapidly. The Botany Swamps Water Plan, developed by Edward Bell and will Wordsworth, was timely put forward in 1859, as the simple reliance on wells and water trucks on public water issues was no longer sufficient to meet the needs. The first phase of the Paddington Reservoir was completed in 1866 (Phase II started in 1875 and completed in 1877) and began to receive water from the Botanical Bay Everglades pumping Station. The Paddington Reservoir consists of two underground reservoirs (1000 square meters each) in the east and west, consisting of brick iron wall columns erected in morticles on stone foundations at the bottom of the reservoir to support cast iron beams. The cast iron beam, in turn, supports the segmented arch of the roof.

Paddington Reservoir, which has been in operation for 33 years, was replaced by a further upgraded Centennial Park Reservoir in 1899. The decommissioned Paddington Reservoir was used as storage space by the Sydney Metropolitan Water and sewage Administration.

In 1985, the reservoir was listed as a historical heritage in New South Wales. Since then, the conservation, rehabilitation and reconstruction of reservoir sites have been repeatedly proposed. In 2006, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer, the famous heritage architect, and James Mather, the landscape architect, took on the task of rebuilding the reservoir landscape. They skillfully integrated modern design into this historic site, turning the original brick into it. The combination of timber and iron structures with modern elements transformed the reservoir into a sunken garden, officially open to the public in 2009.

Paddington Reservoir Gardens area of 2350 square meters, the structure is divided into two levels. The lower floor is a sunk garden with reflection pools and basements; the upper floor is an open roof lawn and passageway connected to adjacent Oxford Street. The garden was opened to the public in 2008 and won eight awards, including the Asia Pacific Outstanding Urban Design Award 2011 and the Australian National Best Landscape Design Award.

This is a fully open urban garden, and the space border is not deliberately defined, roof, colonnade, courtyard center and so on are free to shuttle and rest. There are plenty of snack bars and other convenience stores to go around, and the scenery is also highly recommended. Even a walk here is quite nice, and after shopping in Oxford Street, you can take a book and lie on the lawn and sit in the sun and read. Enjoy the quiet in the downtown.


Tickets:

  • Free


Open time:

    All day
Loc:
Australia - New South Wales
Kind:
Attraction - Garden
Rating:
4.0 / 5
Hot:
3.0 / 5      What is Hot Index?
Tel:
(02) 9265 9333
Web:
Review:
review(s)      Write a review

Maps of Paddington Reservoir Gardens

Hotels
Attractions
Food
Shopping
 
 

Travel tips of Paddington Reservoir Gardens

All Travel Tips (1)
 

Reviews of Paddington Reservoir Gardens   Write a review

 
Elevator
  • Overview
  • Introduction
  • Maps
  • Travel Tips
  • Review
  • Add to favourites
  • 2021-06-19 07:28:21

澳洲新闻
 澳洲旅游
 酒店预订
 特价门票
 澳洲生活
 澳洲移民
 澳洲论坛
 公
 澳洲同城

点评

评分:
评价:
字数统计:0
照片:
确认 取消

帕丁顿水库花园 Paddington Reservoir Gardens

251-255 Oxford St, Paddington NSW 2021, Australia

帕丁顿水库花园简介

帕丁顿水库花园(Paddington Reservoir Gardens)位于新南威尔士州首府悉尼(Sydney)东郊的帕丁顿(Paddington),位于牛津街(Oxford Street)的水平线之下,因为是下沉式的花园,所以路过的游人可能会忽略它。

帕丁顿水库花园是一座有着150年历史,并印刻着悉尼城市发展轨迹的重要遗产保护区。花园原址曾经是一个水库,在19世纪50年代,悉尼的城市规模与人口数量都得到了长足的发展和快速的扩张,在公共用水问题上单纯依靠水井与水车提拉的方式已经不能满足需求,因此由爱德华·贝尔和威尔·沃兹沃斯开发的Botany Swamps水计划于1859年被适时提出,1866年帕丁顿水库第一期工程即告完成(第二期于1875年启动、1877年竣工),开始接受植物学湾沼泽地泵站的水。帕丁顿水库共建有东、西两个地下蓄水池(各有1000平方米),由砖砌的铁墙柱构成,这些柱子竖立在水库底部石质地基的榫槽中用以支撑铸铁梁,而铸铁梁又支撑屋顶的分段拱门。

帕丁顿水库前后共运营了33年,1899年后被进一步升级的百年纪念公园水库所替代。退役后的帕丁顿水库被悉尼大都市供水和污水局(水务局)用作为储存空间。

1985年水库被列为新南威尔士州历史遗产,此后对于水库遗址的保护、恢复与重建工作屡次被提出。2006年,著名遗产建筑师Tonkin Zulaikha Greer和景观设计师詹姆斯·马瑟共同承担了水库景观再造的任务,他们将现代设计巧妙地融入到这个历史遗迹之中,把原始砖、木材和铁结构与现代元素有机结合起来,使水库转变成为了一个下沉式的花园,2009年正式对公众开放。

帕丁顿水库花园面积2350平方米,结构分为两个层次。下层是一个下沉的花园,有反射水池和地下室;上层则是一个开放的屋顶草坪和行人通道,并连接到相邻的牛津街。花园在2008年对公众开放,并先后获得了“2011年亚太地区杰出城市设计奖”、“澳大利亚国家最佳景观设计奖”等8个奖项。

这是一个完全开放的城市花园,而且空间边线没有刻意界定,屋顶、柱廊、庭院中央等都可以自由穿梭与休憩。周围有很多值得去的小吃店以及其他的便利店,周围风景也非常值得推荐,即便是在这里散步也相当不错,可以在逛完牛津街后,拿一本书,躺在草坪上边晒太阳边看书,享受闹市中的安静。


门票:

  • 免费


开放时间:

    全天开放
位置:
澳大利亚 - 新南威尔士州
类型:
景点 - 公园/花园
评分:
4.0 / 5
热门:
3.0 / 5      什么是热门指数?
电话:
(02) 9265 9333   如何拨打澳洲电话?
官网:
点评:
2 条点评      我要点评

帕丁顿水库花园周边地图

酒店
景点
美食
购物
 
 

帕丁顿水库花园游记攻略

全部游记攻略(1)
 

网友对帕丁顿水库花园的评价   我要点评

 
电梯
  • 概况
  • 简介
  • 周边地图
  • 游记攻略
  • 网友点评
  • 加入收藏