Travel
 Hotels
 Tickets
 Living
 Immigration
 Forum

Review

Rating:
Review:
Word Count: 0
Pictures:
Ok Cancel

The Argyle Cut

Argyle St, Dawes Point NSW 2000, Australia

Introduction of The Argyle Cut

Located in downtown Sydney, the capital of New South Wales, at the foot of the southern bridge of (Sydney Harbour Bridge), the Sydney Harbour Bridge, The Argyle Cut is a rock cut crossing about 140m long and about 20m wide, built in the mid-nineteenth century. The prisoners of the colonial period of Sydney worked hard and handcrafted in shackles and were hailed as Sydney's three engineering feats along with the roundabout wharf (Circular Quay) and the (Busby's Bore) of the Baobi Reservoir.

From (The Rocks), a rocky area, from (Dawes Point), Cape Davos, to the military hospital south of the observatory mountain (now the National Trust Center building, National Trust of Australia), was once prostrated by a contiguous north-south rock ridge. Just as a natural barrier obstructs the east-west traffic of the rocky area and the land link between Sydney Port and Darling Port (Darling Harbour), it brings great inconvenience to the local commercial activities and the residents' lives. The call to dig the east-west passage in the rock area has been uninterrupted since 1804, until construction began in 1843 and was not completed until 1868, and went on intermittently for 25 years. There are several reasons for this. First, the construction is difficult, the whole work surface is a solid rock, labor intensity is very great, and prisoners still with mechanical tools with hand-drilled, the progress is extremely slow; Second, in the same period, the construction of the (Cockatoo Island) dock and the reclamation of the circular wharf on Koketu Island were given priority consideration, the technical forces were transferred and the labour was dispersed; third, the nuisance of the gang of local ruffians and rogue groups caused public indignation; Fourth, site waste clean-up is not timely, some rock pits also become landfills; fifthly, cross-street flyover supporting construction problems, and so on.

The flyover is an important part of The Argyle Cut, where access to several north-south streets formerly at rock ridges needs to be connected by flyovers after rock cuts, but now, except for the Cumberland Street (Cumberland St) flyover, it was later retained. Other street bridges have been demolished at the time of the construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Sydney Harbour Bridge passes through the section of The Argyle Cut and a huge reinforced concrete semi-circular arch bridge with a length of 20 meters and a width of 50 meters is firmly seated on the rock section at both ends of the passage.


Tickets:

  • Free


Open time:

  • All day
Loc:
Australia - New South Wales
Rating:
3.5 / 5
Hot:
3.0 / 5      What is Hot Index?
Web:
Review:
No review yet      Write a review

Maps of The Argyle Cut

Hotels
Attractions
Food
Shopping
 
 

Reviews of The Argyle Cut   Write a review

 
Elevator
  • Overview
  • Introduction
  • Maps
  • Review
  • Add to favourites

澳洲新闻
 澳洲旅游
 酒店预订
 特价门票
 澳洲生活
 澳洲移民
 澳洲论坛
 公
 澳洲同城

点评

评分:
评价:
字数统计:0
照片:
确认 取消

阿盖尔通道 The Argyle Cut

Argyle St, Dawes Point NSW 2000, Australia

阿盖尔通道简介

阿盖尔通道(The Argyle Cut)位于新南威尔士州首府悉尼(Sydney)市区,悉尼海港大桥(Sydney Harbour Bridge)南部桥脚下,是建于十九世纪中期的一个长约140米、宽约20米的岩石切割道口,由悉尼殖民地时期的囚犯带着镣铐辛勤劳作手工凿制完成,并与环形码头(Circular Quay)和巴士比水库(Busby's Bore)一起被誉为悉尼三大工程壮举。

岩石区(The Rocks)从达韦斯角(Dawes Point)到天文台山南部的军医院(现在的国家信托中心大楼 National Trust of Australia)原本横卧着一条连贯的北南向岩石山脊,犹如一个天然屏障阻隔了岩石区东西向的交通往来,以及悉尼港与达令港(Darling Harbour)的陆路连接,给当地的商业活动、居民生活带来了极大的不便。开凿岩石区东西向通道的呼声从1804年以来就一直没有间断过,直到从1843年动工起,一直到1868年才得以完工,前后断断续续进行了25年的时间。这其中包含着几个原因。一是,施工难度大,整个作业面都是浑然一体的坚固岩石,劳动强度极大,况且囚犯们还是带着械具用手工凿制,进度极其缓慢;二是,同期的科克图岛(Cockatoo Island)船坞建设和环形码头填海工程获得了优先考量,技术力量被转移、劳工被分散;三是,地痞流氓团伙的滋扰,惹起民愤;四是,工地废弃物清理不及时,有的岩坑还成为了垃圾场;五是,过街天桥的配套建设问题,等等。

过街天桥是阿盖尔通道的重要组成部分,通道建设以前在岩脊的几条南北向的街道,岩石切开后都需要通过天桥连接,而现在除了坎伯兰街(Cumberland St)天桥在后来得以保留外,其他街桥都已经在悉尼海港大桥建设时拆毁。

悉尼海港大桥经过阿盖尔通道的路段则建设了一座长20米、宽50米的巨大的钢筋混凝土半圆形拱桥稳稳当当地落座在了通道两端的岩石切面上。


门票:

  • 免费


开放时间:

    全天开放
位置:
澳大利亚 - 新南威尔士州
类型:
景点 - 建筑/广场
评分:
3.5 / 5
热门:
3.0 / 5      什么是热门指数?
官网:
点评:
暂无网友点评      我要点评

阿盖尔通道周边地图

酒店
景点
美食
购物
 
 

网友对阿盖尔通道的评价   我要点评

 
电梯
  • 概况
  • 简介
  • 周边地图
  • 网友点评
  • 加入收藏